Posted by: beansai | August 4, 2007

Introducing Mutate!

My good friends Skunkie and Polyvector have been hard at work lately to release their new project Mutate.tv for beta testing. So, what exactly is Mutate? Here it is from the creators themselves:

“Say Hello to the World’s first social imaging app. Mutate allows you to take existing images (or Parts) on a workspace (or Laboratory) and put them together into your own creation (or Mutation).
All this goes beyond remixing of existing Parts and Mutations. You can upload your own Parts, submit new Mutations, and save them as alpha blended PNGs. Everything uploaded and created here is free to use in any way your mind can conjure.”

This fun web-based application is a great way to create avatars that are unique and one of a kind. You can do it anywhere and continue to have access to your creations on the site itself as well as save them to your computer. An application like this especially comes in handy for people like me, who lack any kind of graphic design competence. I haven’t a clue how to use Photoshop or the like, where I would make these sort of images, and Mutate allows me to use parts that others have willingly created to make my own image. I have the ideas, but not the basic functionality to work those thoughts into an actual creation and Mutate gives me the opportunity to do this. And did I mention that it is a BLAST to work with Mutate? Because it is! Just so you have an idea of what Mutate allows you to do, I will post a link to a few Mutations of my very own. Skunkie and Polyvector were kind enough to let me have a go at Mutate prior to release and even from just the beginning available parts I was able to make Mutations that varied greatly. Here are my mutations:

Willow's Mutations

I recommend that you take a lap around Mutate and get the feel for the site and really let yourself get into creating Mutations. I can’t wait to see what you guys come up with!

Responses

  1. I’m really glad you are enjoying Mutate. 🙂 You have come up with some very creative uses of the available parts. Bravo!


Leave a Reply

Categories

