Posted by: beansai | August 30, 2007

More school fun….

I figured, since it is highly likely that I will post reviews based on some of the texts and books and stuff I read for class, I would blog about some of the material that you might be seeing in the near future.  I’ll go ahead and break it down according to class and I’ll list the class as well, so that way it is easier for everyone to find what they’re looking for or know what type of class the texts are coming from.

British Literature(w/a focus on Censorship and some lit. that is not British):

   The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood.  I’ve read this before and have planned on doing a review for it, so once I re-read it and refresh my memory, then I will post about it.

    The Rainbow by D.H. Lawrence.  We’ve already begun to read this and so far I am enjoying it.

   The Well of Loneliness by Radclyffe Hall

    1984 by George Orwell

   The Rape of Sita by Lindsey Collen

 *There are other smaller readings that I didn’t list as well as one more book that hasn’t been decided, because we each choose a separate one.

Principles of Rhetoric:

   Classical Rhetoric for the Modern Student Corbett, Edward P.J., and Robert J. Connors

Spanish:

  Los pazos de Ulloa por Emilia Pardo Bazan

   El desorden de tu nombre por Juan Jose Millas

*There’s a regular text as well, but I didn’t feel it worth mentioning.

Intm. Poetry:

 Postmodern American Poetry: A Norton Anthology…I think that’s the right title, I will check when I get home.

And that is all for now. 

Responses

  1. Please let us know how you like Los pazos de Ulloa…coincidentally I’ve just formatted this as an ebook and might get around to reading it some day (these Spanish books always take me years!).

  2. I will definitely let you know. I’m hoping that I’ll be able to understand enough of it to get the essence of the book. I can’t say that I have successfully read a book in Spanish all the way through, though I have tried. Considering this one is recquired for class, I’m sure I’ll make it through, and I’ll be sure to let you know what I thought of it.

  3. i just discovered that there is a miniseries based on this book
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0089787/. possibly worth watching? if you can find it.

    i’ve read a few books in spanish, although they take me a long time. i spent a few years reading the last gabriel garcia marquez book!

  4. Sounds like it’s worth a watch. I’ll have to look around and see if I can find it somewhere. Thanks for the heads up.


Leave a Reply

Categories

