Posted by: beansai | September 1, 2007

Blog Action Day 2007

I had intended to post about Lit Bit’s participation in Blog Action Day 2007 about a week ago, but unfortunately, preparing for school and work got in the way. Well now that it is the weekend I wanted to help spread the word:

On October 15th, bloggers around the web will unite to put a single important issue on everyone’s mind – the environment. Every blogger will post about the environment in their own way and relating to their own topic. Our aim is to get everyone talking towards a better future.

 I really hope to read a book concerning the environment and provide a review on October 15th. As of right now I could really use some suggestions, if you have any recommendations on a book or even articles that deal with environmental issues,please, leave me a comment. I look forward to looking around on my fellow bloggers’ sites and seeing them participate in this day of awareness as well. I think we all, in general, could use a bit of eye-opening.

EDIT: Here are some of the books that I am thinking about reading for my topic on Blog Action Day:
Animal Dreams by Barbara Kingsolver ~ fiction
The World and the Wild by Marta Ulvaeus and David Rothenberg ~ non-fiction
Red Sky at Morning by James Gustave Speth ~ non-fiction
Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver ~ non-fiction
Walden by Henry David Thoreau ~ non-fiction
Silent Spring by Rachel Carson ~ non-fiction

* I would really prefer to stick to a book of fiction, because I am more familiar with fiction, and I also think it is important to shed light on the fact that even fiction novels can address political, environmental, economical issues, etc. They aren’t always just for pure entertainment. Personally I prefer to read a book that is enjoyable, but also leaves me wondering about the things I do in my life and why. Again, if anyone has any suggestions, I would love to hear them. I am trying to stick with more recently published works, but obviously (as shown by my choices listed above) I am open to anything.

Leave a Reply

Categories

