Posted by: beansai | October 11, 2007

All Our Mothers

The nameless first, my mother…the one that stretched skin, innards, and legs to release
      me from captivity-
            but she didn’t prepare me for the wild.

Gertrude, my mom’s mom,
      she died when Mom was only weeks old. A bad blood transfusion.

The phantom woman that birthed my brother in a dump
      …name unknown, among other things…
            authorities think she called the priest
            to let them know where he was.

Grandma Jane,
      my mom’s mom,
            but really she’s her aunt,
      Gertrude’s sister. But Mom needed a home,
            and Grandma needed a baby.

Our real mom, my brother’s and mine.
      She inherited us with a missing uterus and malformed
            ovaries; the only mother we have ever known.

Responses

  1. OMG! I am sooo proud of myself, I did all the HTML for this myself to get the spacing and shit right! I had to look some stuff up, I got all the HTML right the first time around and with only ONE typo in the content of the poem itself…I hate to gush and repeat how proud of myself I am, but I can’t help it, I’m no major ‘puter nerd that has a natural knack for this kind of stuff 😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

