Posted by: beansai | November 12, 2007

Lit Bit Revamped…

…Ok, so this isn’t an overhaul of my site…in fact the effort of redesign on my part is minimal, but the visual change that everyone sees is pretty big. I decided that it was time for a change and so I sifted through the available themes for blogs and came across this one, Dusk. I liked the color palette of it, with it’s calming dark greys and slate blues. But I have to admit I was very fond of my previous theme, Thirteen, as well. So this is where all my awesome readers and visitors come in…which theme do you like better? And if this is your first time here and you don’t know what I am talking about, no worries. Here are some screenshots of the previous theme and the new one (even though you can actually see it now):

This is the Thirteen theme that I previously had and then:

This is the Dusk theme I am currently using.Let me know what you think! Leave me a comment letting me know which theme you like better and why. 🙂

Responses

  1. I like Dusk (current theme) better. And I have some good reasons! I know you are eager to hear. 😀

    1. I am not very crazy about gradient backgrounds for sites, they make my eyes go buggy. Thirteen had this. I much prefer the solid background in Dusk.

    2. I really like the font chosen in Dusk. It is very readable yet adds more style than the plain Times type font used in Thirteen.

    3. I like the sidebar navigation in Dusk. it is much more attractive and feels orderly despite the lack of change in links.

    I did however find a con to the Dusk theme. It doesn’t have avatars like Thirteen for comments. kind of a bummer, but I think it is a small loss compared to the overall beauty of the new theme.

    Good choice. 🙂

  2. It’ll take some getting used to, having the side bar on the right instead of the left. I keep looking to the left for all my links and then it clicks…oh yeah, they’re on the right side now…haha. It’s hard to say…I like them both a lot. I think it is funny that both themes ended being designed by the same person. I think I will definitely give Dusk a fair run though and see how it grows on me over a bit of time. 🙂

  3. I like the modern look in Dusk, although when I think of Lit Bit, and your love of 19th century literature and poetry, I think the slightly victorian-styled flower in the upper-left suited those themes better. On the other hand, your site is so much more than those original themes, so, if you give me more time, I may come around 🙂 Also, the blue of Dusk is a more pleasant color than Thirteen’s green.

  4. Lit Bit has evolved into much more than just 19th century literature reviews and I think this theme reflects those changes.

  5. @Mega: I think that victorianesque flourish to my previous theme is definitely what drew me to it originally, but I think the little modern flourishes this theme has works for me. If it didn’t have those, I don’t think I would be as inclined to giving it a try. I also agree that the blue of this theme is nicer and easier on the eyes.
    @Skunkie: I definitely agree that my goals here for Lit Bit have evolved quite a bit. I find it surprising that my coverage of 19th century works has actually been fairly minimal up to this point. Not that I mind one way or another, but it is definitely a turn that I had not anticipated my blog taking.


Leave a Reply

Categories

