Posted by: beansai | March 5, 2008

Journal Entry #9.1: Goat

    I think everyone just needs to get off Brad Land’s back. I really liked Goat. The style of the memoir was definitely unconventional, but I think it made a point and a statement. And while I understand people’s frustration with the lack of character development, especially in the way of women…we should be glad that he basically didn’t develop anyone’s character. He didn’t really even develop the male characters, so shut the hell up about it already! How did our discussion about Name All the Animals turn into another Land discussion? Seriouslly people…focus! Granted I can’t even remember the initial question that brought Goat back into the discussion.

    Some people thought the ending was unfulfilling and cliche, but you know what, sometimes life is frickin cliche. And you can call it a symbolic ending, but I don’t really think so. I mean yes it could be if it really was a turning point and he really began to let go of everything that happened to him, but I don’t think he did. I think he wanted to and that is what the ending is about…wanting to let go of all the bullshit that takes hold of us. It’s a lot easier to toss out a pocket full of crap than a brain full of trauma and images and voices and smells…it’s the mental invasion that is hard to get over, not the physical injuries.

    Maybe I empathize with the guy a lot more, being very passive myself and having my own issues with anxiety. I don’t even want to talk about having to talk on the phone to people I don’t know; it makes me want to piss my pants and/or puke, and I can’t swallow, my tongue feels dry and swollen, I can’t formulate words and my brain is stuttering, the imaginary conversation I practiced for half an hour before I made the call is suddenly gone and I can’t remember what questions I’m supposed to be asking or answering…ugh.

    So cut the guy some slack!….and can’t we get a funny memoir goin here instead of everyone dealing with trauma? Is trauma, no matter how small or trivial, what makes our lives interesting? Is that really it?

Leave a Reply

Categories

