Posted by: beansai | March 12, 2008

Books and School and Reviews

    I haven’t written a review in a few months at least. This fact makes me sad. It isn’t that I haven’t been reading, or don’t want to write any reviews, it’s simply that as soon as I finish one book, I’m moving on to the next. If you’ve been keeping up with the Journal Entries I have been posting, you’ll have a bit of an idea of what I have been reading. The problem with the Journal Entries is that they include my responses to the memoirs I’ve been reading rather than making them entirely accessible to people that have not read these books. For that reason, I want to review the memoirs I have been reading in class. Here’s a quick list of what we have read or are reading:

    Jarhead by Anthony Swofford
    Hypocrite in a pouffy white dress by Susan Jane Gilman
    Goat by Brad Land
    Name All the Animals by Alison Smith
    and Another Bullshit Night in Suck City by Nick Flynn

    We just started reading Another Bullshit Night in Suck City, so my review for that one will be at the bottom of the list. I’m hoping once summer comes around, I’ll have more time to read more books, finish ones that I haven’t gotten around to yet, and review ALL of them. A girl can dream, can’t she? I also have some books of poetry that I need to finish reading and give reviews on. Oy, it feels like summer is already screaming past with all these plans I have, and it hasn’t even started yet. And if anyone would like, I could also review some of the Shakespeare plays I’ve been reading in my Shakespeare class. I must admit, it hasn’t been anywhere near as awful and dull as I had expected it to be. The credit goes entirely to the professor. His enthusiasm in the classroom and over Shakespeare make the subject bearable, at least for those of us that are not huge Shakespeare fans. I wonder, are Shakespeare plays one of those things you either love or hate? Are there any shades of grey when it comes to Shakespeare? I haven’t decided yet.

    Hopefully in the next couple of weeks I will get at least one review posted. I’m quite ashamed of my slackerism. Well, next week is spring break, and seeing as how I intend to spend my time between work and home, I should have more time to get some Lit Bit work done. Stick with me, I’ll get there.

Leave a Reply

Categories

