Posted by: beansai | April 24, 2008

Journal Entry #18: It’s all about the grit…

    I just don’t get the comment that my writing is too pretty, the language I use is too nice, too quiet. What does this mean? Why is it necessary for my writing to be dirty and gritty, harsh adjectives and severe juxtaposing. Need a dog’s bite to go with the soft fur? Is this need for the grit a new fad? Is this really the only way I’ll make it in writing, committing to the ugly, the cold and disconnected?

    I really just don’t get it. Are they really just trying to say that my writing comes off as studied, forced, pretentious? Because if that is the case, I wish they would just say what they mean.

    I uncovered another reason as to why I dislike peer editing/workshopping. I’ve never been a terribly confident writer and typically I think all my writing sucks. Perhaps some is more bareable than other writings I’ve done, but all in all I don’t think of myself as a great writer. As a result of this, I turn everything in with the assumption that I failed miserably at it. So when I have to listen to someone tell me what is wrong with my writing I feel even worse and more discouraged than I started. And that just opens up a whole other can of worms. Its not like all I get are negative comments, but being a bit (or a lot) pessimistic, I tend to focus on the negative more than the positive. I HATE disappointing, letting down, not meeting expectations.

Responses

  1. Darling, you do write very well. You have your own style – stick to it.

    I have a very, straight-up, to-the-point style of writing, and some people consider it bad, unimaginative writing. But I don’t care. It’s my own unique voice. As long as your writing isn’t pretentious you should be fine.

  2. Thanks Tash!


Leave a Reply

Categories

