Posted by: beansai | September 15, 2008

Waxing Poetic

     Despite a heavy load of work that my grad level poetry class requires (should anything else be expected?), I am thoroughly enjoying it after a year of…uuhhh…less than satisfactory poetry workshops. We are actually reading through poetry and learning how the language of the poems function. When we workshop our poems, we look at them in the same manner. Breaking down the poems, practically line by line to determine what works and what doesn’t.

     It’s also really nice to have a smaller class again. We are only 9 strong and it’s awesome. Much less intimidating than a larger class workshop. Plus, you get much more individualized responses. People are able to spend more quality time on critiquing your work than if they had to work through 15+ poems in a larger class. So far this workshop has done me good, revitalizing my enthusiasm for reading and writing poetry. It has helped to remind me why I love to write. While I haven’t completely broken down that writer’s block barrier I’ve had for a few months, I think I am well on the way to recovery.

     I must admit, before I had taken any kind of workshop, the idea was utterly terrifying. And I think if I had started with a large class, with the professor I’ve had for the last two semesters, I would not have continued or enjoyed workshops. Luckily for me, my first workshop consisted of six or so people and awesome professor! That professor happened to be Jill from One Year of Opus. This first experience really allowed me to open up and become more comfortable with the position of vulnerability a workshop puts you in. So despite a couple of workshops that weren’t as comfortable as my first, I at least knew that not every workshop would function as the last two I have taken. And this grad level course is proving my hopes right. Sweet!

Leave a Reply

Categories

