Posted by: beansai | September 20, 2008

October Book-Fest

     So I have been flopping around, trying desperately to decide on a book for the month of October for our Twitter Book Club. There are plenty of choices out there, but I wanted to be conscious of current relativity, cost, availability, all those practical sorts of things. Anyway, I am going to narrow down the options this weekend to three or four books, post them with links, and then give you guys a few days to provide your input on which one you would like to read. I will (hopefully) have the slimmed down list available sometime this evening or early tomorrow. I already have the books in mind, but I want to make a trip to the book store to really get a good look at these texts and then make my decision.

     After a bit of thinking, I figured I might as well put up my top three choices for October right now, and if I need to change them later I will. So here goes:

     Out of Poverty: What Works When Traditional Approaches Fail by Paul Polak
     Ways of Dying: A Novel by Zakes Mda
     Stuffed and Starved: The Hidden Battle for the World Food System by Raj Patel

     So there are the top three contenders. As soon as I make a trip to the book store (once I’m done at work), I will make any adjustments that I find necessary for the shortened list. Meantime, feel free to leave comments on which book you would like to read.

Leave a Reply

Categories

