Posted by: beansai | September 25, 2008

Book Club October Reading

     Okay folks, it is official. For the month of October we will be reading Out of Poverty: What Works When Traditional Approaches Fail by Paul Polak. I wavered a lot in my decision of what book to choose for our first month. There was a lot of criteria I was trying to balance in my decision. First off, I wanted a book that would cover the global concern of poverty, since that is the theme of Blog Action Day this year. That being said, I felt that choosing a book that was current was very important. But with current also came cost. And I wanted to try and find something reasonable. I also wavered between genres. Do I go with a fiction novel that may not be exactly present times, but is relatively close, and is cheaper, plus may have potential re-read value? Or do I go full on, recent publication, but extremely relevant to the topic and costs a little bit more?

     I ultimately sided on the more recent publication and relevant, because I do think it is important that we take these issues head-on. I’ll be the first to admit that I am fairly globally ignorant. So when it came down to it, I thought it best to spend a little money now and learn about the issues at hand (and what can be done to improve or prevent them) rather than sugar-coating it under the guise of fiction. Not to say that fiction can’t be current or relevant or even blatant, but sometimes it is easier to shrug off what you read in a book when it is labelled “fiction.” Anyway, I really hope you’ll be able to join us in reading this book. I’ve read through the excerpt available on Amazon and it was a very informative and fluid read, so I know we’ll enjoy reading this book, and hopefully, learn a lot.

P.S.- I forgot to mention that for the month of November we will be reading Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance by Robert M. Pirsig. I wanted to let you all know that in advance, in case you needed to order that as well. I figured you’d rather get it all at once than to be constantly ordering stuff.

Leave a Reply

Categories

