Posted by: beansai | October 2, 2008

First Book of the First Month

UPDATE: In case you missed my tweets the other day, we are meeting for the Out of Poverty discussion on Tuesday October 14, 2008 from 8:30pm to 9:30pm US MST (-7hrs GMT). I hope you all can make it. If not, hopefully for the second meet you will be able to.

     Let me just reiterate how excited I am about the Book Club. And the fact that this is our first month! I’m thrilled! Now I know I’m a day late in getting this posted, but I hope ya’ll will forgive me. So here are some of the details: For the month of October we are reading the book Out of Poverty: What Works When Traditional Approaches Fail by Paul Polak. This book is not only functioning as our introduction book to this new-founded Book Club, but also as a tool for October’s Blog Action Day. If you haven’t picked it up yet make sure you do soon! So, how far do we have to read to and by when? Well, here goes:

      – Read through Chapter 6 by October 14th.
      – We will have our first online discussion meeting on the evening of the 14th.
      – Our meets will take place in an IRC chat. If you go here you will be able to access an online IRC client (Thank you Skunkie for getting the Lit_Bit channel set up for us.). Or you can use a desktop client. If you need any help getting this set up, or figuring out how to use the online client, just let me know, and I’ll help you or enlist one of my more tech-savvy friends to help. Either way, we’ll figure it out. 🙂
      – If you are going to use a desktop client the chat server is: chat.zoite.net and the chat room name is: #lit-bit

     I really hope you all enjoy this book! I’m looking forward to sit down with it for a good gander this weekend. Remember, if you can, to jot down any reactions that you have to the book, likes, dislikes. What you think the author does well, where you think he is inefficient, etc. Anything that comes to mind basically. I chose to meet the evening before the Blog Action Day event, just in case any of you wanted to use what you read or what we discuss as material for your Blog Action. Anyway, happy reading everybody!

Responses

  1. This is a great book! I don’t think you can read this book and can not be passioante about poverty eradication.
    I’m not sure if I’ll be able to participate, but if I find the time, I’ll get to it.

    I’m working with a San Franscisco-based startup that promotes open education, and we’re working very hard to change things through the power of education.

    Ramin


Leave a Reply

Categories

