Posted by: beansai | November 15, 2008

Absent Posting

     Well, I’m ashamed to say that I have been ridiculously scarce here on Lit Bit. I would love to be around more and feel a bit guilty for not, but I swear I have some good excuses. A) I don’t really have anything new to talk about; just more complaining about the application process of Graduate School and current classes (though there isn’t really much complaining to be done there), and B) My spare time is packed and bogged down with none other than that insane process that is applying for Graduate School. So, as you can imagine, my life is very one-track-minded at the moment, which leaves me quite dull and boring when it comes to posting. Sad to say, I know.

     While I may not have a whole lot to post about, I do have a couple of things to mention. Last night we finished our third discussion for the Lit Bit Book Club. It was our first meeting of the month about the book Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance by Robert Pirsig. As we move (far too quickly for my taste) toward the second half of November, I am naturally contemplating what book we will read for December. At the moment I am a bit torn. I had originally decided on One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, but I’m afraid that graduation, holidays, and the mad rush to get my applications out by the end of the month will not allow me to dedicate much time to reading. So I’ve decided to turn our focus to a less intense read and something very easy and enjoyable. I figured I wouldn’t be the only one bogged down during the holidays.

     The book I am now considering having us read for December is Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling. That’s right folks, I am seriously considering forcing you down that Harry Potter madness path. I know that there is some reluctance by some members of the book club, but I really want you to be open minded about this and maybe push yourself a bit outside of your comfort zone. Now, if the majority isn’t quite reconciled to the idea of reading Harry Potter quite yet, our other option (suggested kindly by Skunkie) is The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama. I took a quick glance at it and I think it would be an interesting and insightful read considering the up and coming shifts of power and such. So those are the choices on the table for now. I’m personally leaning toward Harry Potter for December and then Obama’s book for January, but this is your chance to let me know if you’re not quite up to the task that is Harry Potter. šŸ™‚

Responses

  1. I’m all for reading Harry Potter. Will be a nice easy read while I take a break from my current affair with religion vs. atheism and go through a book on canine epilepsy.

  2. @Skunkie – Yay! I’m glad you’re on board with this. It is the direction I am heavily leaning toward, and I think it will be good to push people to read something they normally wouldn’t read. And it’s not like I’m going to have us read ALL of the series in a row, one month after the next. šŸ™‚

  3. Yes, the Harry Potter will be a stretch for me, but I’ll give it a go, and who knows? Maybe I’ll even like it.

  4. That’s the spirit eggplanteer! Love it! šŸ˜€

  5. I will not be reading the Harry Potter book. I try to limit my reading to nonfiction as far as possible. Hope that you all enjoy the read. I may join in on future reads. Have enjoyed the last two.


Leave a Reply

Categories

