Posted by: beansai | November 16, 2008

poemcrazy

     It has been a productive day today. I love being able to come and go whenever I want without having to rush to be somewhere else. In simpler terms: I love it when I have a day off of work and school! When I feel inclined to get things done on my day off I’m ultra productive. My dog got a nice grooming at PetsMart this morning, while I worked out for an hour. I got home showered, dried my hair, put on clothes that aren’t a uniform, and then picked Princess up from the groomers. After that I got some card stitching done (I’ll have to post a picture of my graduation announcements one of these days), talked with my parents, went to Barnes and Noble, and finally, the grocery store. And it isn’t even 7 P.M. here! That’s amazing I tell you! OH! And I even took out the trash.

     I went to Barnes and Noble hoping to find this book called The Book of Forms: A Handbook of Poetics by Lewis Turco, because I feel the need to push myself in terms of form when it comes to my poetry. I’ve been a free verse junkie from the beginning, because I have allowed myself to consider form to be outdated and all those wonderful Shakespeare associations from high school have gotten in the way as well. After several poetry workshops, I have come to realize that form can be wonderfully modern and useful. Anyway, I thought it would be helpful to have a book about form since I am terribly clueless about it. Alas, I was unable to find this particular book at B&N.

     Don’t imagine that I walked away empty handed though. Hardly! It was a great feat of restraint considering that I walked out with only TWO purchases. The first book I bought was poemcrazy: freeing your life with words by Susan Goldsmith Wooldridge , which was originally suggested to me by Jill over at OneYearofOpus. My next purchase was The Poet’s Companion: A Guide to the Pleasures of Writing Poetry by Kim Addonizio and Dorianne Laux.

     So why would someone who already writes poetry need books on how to write poetry? Easy. I find these books helpful to expand my horizons and get me thinking. Sometimes it is easy to get bogged down by the day to day monotony of life. School, work, eat, sleep… repeat. Anyone else get stuck in that life-draining cycle? So these types of books can help give you a brainwave and force you to experiment with your writing. Plus it’s just nice to have ideas at hand sometimes. I’m very excited about delving into these two new books, though I’m not sure which one I will tackle first, or if I’ll go at them both simultaneously.

     I also got to thinking about some other things while I was sitting on that industrial carpet that lines the floor of Barnes and Noble…. Primarily Graduate School and how stressed out I have been about it. I realized today that even if every single University I apply to rejects my application, that even if they didn’t even think me worth sending the rejection letter, I would still write. M.F.A., M.A., Ph.D., it doesn’t matter one jot whether I ever get those or not. Now, don’t get me wrong, I want them, I really do. I want to achieve these goals I’ve set for myself and get out there and share with others how enjoyable it is to write poetry and to read poetry, but ultimately it is about the writing, not the degree. When I realized this, when it finally formulated into words in my head, I felt so much tension release. It was a good feeling to smile and think “Hey, it’s going to be okay no matter what.” I like that feeling. Everyone should be able to enjoy that feeling.

Leave a Reply

Categories

