Posted by: beansai | January 19, 2009

Comings and Goings

     I am almost finished with the application process for schools. Just one last batch of paperwork and applications to send off and fill out. And then it’s the waiting game, the sit and twiddle thumbs nervously game. That I can handle. On top of applying to Graduate schools I am also in the middle of moving. The actual move will take place this weekend. I’m leaving behind the city I’ve lived in for about six years now while I pursued my undergraduate degree. It has been an abundance of ups and downs. Although I may not have wanted to admit it to myself, as this weekend draws so close, I realize that I will actually miss this place. It was the first place where I asserted my independence, where I chose to follow the path in my life that I wanted, not the one everyone else thought I should follow. I still mentally pat myself on the back for the steps I took in that direction; I’m proud of myself.

     Aside from all that jazz I am also reading This Clumsy Living by Bob Hicok and hope to have a review of the book of poetry up sometime in the next couple of weeks. I’m excited about finally getting some poetry reviews out. The Book Club is currently finishing up the third book of the Harry Potter series: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by the end of this month. For the month of February we are going to read Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison in honor of Black History Month.

     Even though I am currently not in school I am certainly not lacking in things to do. I can’t wait to get moved and settled, which will hopefully result in more time for me to commit to Lit Bit and the Book Club. Undoubtedly I will keep everyone posted on how the school search goes.

Leave a Reply

Categories

