Posted by: beansai | January 27, 2009

The Out Campaign

     I have considered myself an atheist for a few years at least now, though up until this point I have not verbalized it to anyone, not even my closest friends who are atheists as well. I’ve simply not been ready to come out and shout to the world what I do or do not believe. In fact even in arguments I have remained generally neutral, not being one to run headlong into confrontation. Yes, I’m a chicken πŸ˜€ . But some things have happened in my life that have finally pushed me over the threshold and I’ve decided not to be quiet anymore… well, at least not in web country. I’m not quite up to telling my generally catholic parents about this, but I’ll get there eventually. This is a big step for me and I’m happy to finally make it. I’ve been considering it for quite awhile now, but have been hesitant since it is only realistic that fair treatment for all religious beliefs or non-beliefs can’t be entirely trusted. While I certainly hope that people are sensitive enough to respect others’ choices I realize it is not that simple. But ultimately I don’t care anymore how this affects my future, this is how I feel and what I want. And I’m happy to finally be out:

Scarlet Letter of Atheism
Responses

  1. I have to say this did come as a surprise to me. I wake up to find my best friend has written a public post about becoming an atheist and never really talked about it with me first (not that I didn’t suspect).

    I am seriously filled with joy that you have officially moved beyond the common superstitions people like to call religion. You of course have my full support!

  2. @Skunkie…yeah I know. I’m really weird when it comes to talking about this kind of stuff… as in I generally don’t talk about it lol. I gave the whole religion thing a go, but it didn’t work for me, despite my best efforts. I’ve always had my issues with religion, even when I was young, though perhaps not as strong or as concrete as yours were when you were a kid ;).

  3. It’s almost a shame I’ll never reproduce, my anti-god genes should be spread. It’s the direction evolution in our species needs to take. πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

Categories

