Posted by: beansai | May 3, 2009

School, Books, Music, etc.

     I haven’t been up to much lately. Well, aside from accepting my acceptance to Royal Holloway, University of London for a Masters in Creative Writing (emphasis on Poetry, of course), and the ensuing paperwork and applications for financial lenders and housing and such. It’s a tedious and intimidating process still, even with the peace of mind that I have been accepted somewhere. Aside from school stuff I have also been reading. We just finished reading Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh for the Lit Bit Book Club, and on my own I finished reading The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien and I have now started The Fellowship of the Ring. Can you tell what direction I’m going with that? Haha! I’ve read The Lord of the Rings series before and while I enjoyed the books (and the movies), they make me sad; so I’m making my way slowly through them… very slowly. I am also going to start reading The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Díaz. I’ve also been sporadically reading books of poetry. And the book club is reading Lila: An Inquiry into Morals by Robert M. Pirsig for the month of May.

     That’s a lot on my “currently reading” list. You’d think I’d have more to show for it here on Lit Bit. I’ve also been listening to a lot of new music. My friend introduced me to some really awesome post-rock bands. A couple of my favorites are Explosions in the Sky and MONO. One of my favorite songs for Explosions in the Sky is called “So Long, Lonesome” and is definitely worth listening to. Beautiful music! One of my favorite MONO songs is “Mere Your Pathetique Light” and I hope you give that one a listen too. This music makes me wish my ice skating days had never ended, because this is the kind of music I wish my coaches had come across for my routines. Anyway… aside from the nostalgia or whatever that longing is, it really is great music and very relaxing for a stressed out brain. 🙂

EDIT: I also read Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë last month. That was the first time that I made it all the way through that book – and I still don’t get why people like it. Meh. Anne Brontë deserved so much more credit than she got.

Leave a Reply

Categories

